10 Facts About Lok Sabha - Lower House of Indian Parliament
10 Facts About Lok Sabha - Lower House of Indian Parliament

Read Some Interesting and Important facts about Lok Sabha which is also known as Lower house of Parliament. Lok Sabha Members are elected by peoples of India and get 5 year term in office. Read more such facts about Lok Sabha bellow.

10 Interesting Facts about Lok Sabha You Should Know

1. Indian Lok Sabha consist of 545 members. 543 members are elected through a democratic process organized by Election Commission of India in every 5 years. 2 Members are directly elected by President of India from Anglo Indian Community.

2. To run the Lok Sabha properly, a speaker and a deputy speaker is elected from the members of lok Sabha. Usually member from party which is in majority becomes Speaker and a member of Opposition party becomes Deputy Speaker.

3. Bills related to Money can be passed through Lok Sabha alone. After passing it in Lok Sabha it is sent to Rajya Sabha for any recommendations. It does not to be passed from Rajya Sabha.

4. No Confidence motion against Government can only be introduced n Lok Sabha. If it is passed then Prime Minister and other ministers have to resign.

5. Any Bill for Constitutional Amendment need to passed with two third majority in Lok Sabha. This is equal power to Rajya Sabha the upper house of Parliament.


6. Any Non Financial Bill introduced in Lok Sabha is sent to Rajya Sabha after being passed. If Rajya Sabha rejects the bill or hold the bill for 6 months or their recommendation is rejected in Lok Sabha then it leads to dead lock situation.

7. The dead lock situation is resolved by joint session of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and by simple majority voting. As Lok sabha has double the number of Rajya Sabha, thus in joint session the will of Lok Sabha is normally prevails.

8. In case of emergency Lok Sabha can be extended for 1 year by the president of India.

9.  542 seats are divided according to population in each state and their social struture. A total of 131 seats (18.42%) are reserved for representatives of Scheduled Castes (84) and Scheduled Tribes (47).

10. Lok Sabha has its own Television channel which broadcast live proceedings of daily events in house. It is head quartered in the premises of Indian Parliament. It’s website link is www.loksabha.tv

11. A person is eligible to become the member of Lok Sabha if

1. He/She is be a citizen of India
2. He/She is not less than twenty-five years of age
3. He/She possesses such other qualifications as may be prescribed in that behalf by or under any law made by Parliament.

12. A Member of Lok Sabha can be disqualified if

1.If he/she holds office of profit;
2.If he/she is of unsound mind and stands so declared by a competent court
3.If he/she is an undischarged insolvent;
4.If he/she is not a citizen of India, or has voluntarily acquired the citizenship of a foreign State, or is under any acknowledgment of allegiance or adherence to a foreign State;
5.If he/she is violating party discipline
6.If he/she is convicted of a crime and awarded sentence of minimum 2 years in Jail.